Wake Up, Breathe

If glass hearts shatter and
Scatter, cascading rippling rays of red light
We’ll still have these to hold onto
These memories, this night

In our convalescence we taste the essence
Succulent and distilled
Into something purer;
In essence and in a sense

It is more and less than either of us
Could hope for and far rarer
And longer living than long nights
Between sweat stained sheets

Writhing
Wrestling with the wonder of
Who, what, where, when and why me
Wallowing in regret and banking on

The misery of waking up alone and
Longing, lusting for a catheter
Shot full of ecstatic adrenaline
That drips out and dissipates

Far quicker than they ever said that
It would or that it could or
That ever happened in any picture
Pasted up on the screen, screaming

Loudly that waking the neighbours is
What we should all aim for
Maybe they’re wrong
I’d trade it all for a quiet life

And consistent company with someone
Who constantly leaves me breathless
Dewy eyed with wide irises
And that little skipping somersault
In my stomach

In moonlight and beneath skies
Where stars shiner brighter than you’ve
Noticed before yet sit dulled by
The defiance of the silent shout of the
Beauty that stands before you

14 thoughts on “Wake Up, Breathe

  1. I love this poem – took a few readings to get (some of) the meaning and I don’t necessarily agree with it all, but it’s succinctly put, refined to raw essence! Definitely following you with interest.

    1. Hey, curious to know what you intepret as the meaning and what you agree or disagree with? πŸ™‚ I mean, I know what I was intending to discuss so it would be cool to see if that was the final outcome. PS I absolutely loved soldering irons and trying to melt my friend’s pencil case zips together!

  2. I am finding your poems fascinating. I love the use you make of words and sounds. I feel that reading your poetry is like crossing a river on stepping stones or entering a maze. I think I know where it’s going but am always surprised by the route.
    By the way, I have bought both your books from Halesworth Library. Love the poems and the book production is also good.

    1. Thank you Clare, I’m also interested to hear people’s reactions. Thank you so much for buying them, i’ll have to pop in and check on them today. I work at Micropress Printers so I have a bit of an advantage when it comes to putting books together. I just wanted a professional looking package though, something that wouldn’t look out of place on a bookshelf or amongst published, producted books. Brilliant to connect with someone from the local area too. WordPress is good as it allows you to read and be read by people in America, India, Africa, you name it, but knowing that there are writers and readers in my own area is amazing and adds a human touch to it.

  3. I think that there is something special about Suffolk which brings out the artist in people. Something very English too. I have a very dear friend who is a composer living in Woodbridge and his music has the same deeply emotional and very English quality that your poems have.
    In response to the comment made by one of your other readers, I don’t think one should read poetry to get a ‘meaning’, at least not straight away. One should just let the words wash over and images will appear. Depending on one’s current mood, past history etc. the ‘meaning’ will be different. As one gets older, ‘meanings’ change (as I know from experience).

  4. Boom. First thing in the morning and straight to a nerve or a few. Your poem made perfect sense from the first word to the last. It speaks of love lost and the hope for the recognition of the magnificence of ordinary love. This poem is breathing. Fantastic πŸ™‚

  5. This is really so beautiful. It kind of felt like American Beauty in poem form for me (which is a total compliment, and I hope that’s obvious.)

      1. Oh, what an open-ended question! Heh. Hmm. I’d have to say, in no particular order: memories, nature, music, and the beautiful words of others. πŸ™‚

      2. I think I have to agree with you there. Memories and sentiments combined with hopes and little sparks of inspiration that come about through day to day life.
        Also, girls with selfies of them biting their lip can be quite thought provoking!

Leave a Reply

