Cyprus

After a week away in beautiful 30 degree heat, drinking ten generously mixed cocktails on the quiet days and eating two full plates of meat and cheese for each meal, I’m back from Paphos, Cyprus.
It was all for my friend’s wedding and the day went very smoothly, you wouldn’t be risking sunburn if you had an outdoor ceremony and after party in England at this time of year.

Morning sunshine
Morning sunshine

I last visited cyprus when i was about twelve and i saw quite a few old sights this time round that stirred my memories. I was mostly impressed by how relaxed and friendly people are. The history as a British colony is still prominent once you scratch under the surface and this influence is equally comforting and disappointing. With all the expats, British stores, restaurants, pubs and customs such as driving on the left, it can be a little too familiar when you’re trying to get away from it all but i guess thats a lot better than a hostile or alien place. I guess i mean that it just feels a little bit like a little britain with scorching sunshine and friendli…hang on, why am I complaining?!

Table decoration
Table decoration

Highlights, other than the gorgeous ceremony,

Segway tour
Segway tour

Segway tours (I have no idea how that nobhead Piers Morgan toppled one over)

I am a plant
I am a plant

Hundreds of rather cuddly fleabag street cats

Top Gun
Top Gun

‘Ray Bans’ that cost less than my suncream

Shipwreck
Shipwreck

The grim monolithic sight of the tanker that ran aground in Paphos bay nearly fifteen years ago.

This ain't Lowestoft
This ain’t Lowestoft

After all the sun, free drinks and reunion with university friends it’s now back to the good old British weather.

8 thoughts on “Cyprus

  1. 😀 thanks for coming my beardy beardy friend. We adored having you there… Here’s to our next trip skiing, mm? Xxx

  2. Off, but you had a break in that will make the British weather more bearable. Cyprus is a place I would love to visit to enjoy sunny skies and beautiful beaches.

Leave a comment